Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak Campus

School of Information and Communication Technologies Meet and Greet

October 22, 2019

The School of Information and Communication Technologies recently organized a Meet and Greet event on September 18th, 2019. It served as a platform for the School to meet with students and staff to share latest news and updates as well as to gather valuable student feedback. The new initiative by the Faculty and Schools is to be organised every semester.

The event kickstarted with a welcoming speech by the Dean of the Faculty of Engineering, Computing and Science, Professor Su Hieng Tiong. Following that, the Head of the School of ICT Professor Patrick Then presented latest updates related to internship, study plan and the school plans. These include the offering of two new majors for the Bachelor of Computer Science course:  Data Science major and Artificial Intelligence major. Both are planned to be offered in Semester 2, 2020.

Other new initiatives include the introduction of new Diploma in Computer Science course with majors in Cybersecurity and Data Science, and the new Master of Information Technology course offering specializations in Cybersecurity and Data Science. Both courses are planned to commence in Semester 1,2021 or earliest Semester 2, 2020. Professor Then also highlighted the School’s two new state-of-the-art teaching labs, the Cybersecurity lab and the Internet of Things lab, with another new Artificial Intelligence lab in the pipeline. The establishments of these labs, costing more than a million ringgit, underlines the University’s commitment to delivering high quality computing courses to its students.

As the highlight of the event, the Dean and the Head of School presented Certificates of Academic Excellence to 53 students in the Dean’s List (GPA ≥ 3.5 in Semester 1, 2019) and 36 top-scoring students who achieved the highest marks in their respective units. The event concluded with a lucky draw where attractive prizes were given to three lucky students who filled up the student feedback survey forms. Prizes were fully sponsored by the Head of School.

24 3



Jeremiah Angking
Administrative Executive