30 September 2009

208 from Swinburne Sarawak graduate

KUCHING – 208 graduates were presented with their scrolls at the sixth graduation and award presentation ceremony of Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak Campus on 29 September, 2009.

Pehin Sri Haji Abdul Taib Mahmud, Chief Minister of Sarawak who is also the Pro Chancellor of Swinburne Sarawak, presented the scrolls and awards at the ceremony, which was held at the former Dewan Undangan Negeri.

The Occasional Address was delivered by Dato Sri Haji Mohamad Asfia Bin Awang Nassar, Speaker of the State Assembly.

Of the 208 students that graduated, 125 were in the disciplines of business, 30 in engineering and 53 in information and communication technology.

Engineering graduate Chang Yang Yaw made headlines when he became the first recipient of Yayasan Sarawak’s Anugerah Graduan Cemerlang Sarawak award.

On top of receiving her scroll, Indonesian Lenny Sim whose major is accounting, scored a double when she was presented with the CPA Australia Book Prize for Third Year Financial Accounting in 2009 and the KPMG Tax Service Sdn Bhd Prize for Academic Excellence in Taxation 2009.

The other recipient of the CPA Australia Book Prize award was Annie Lee Siew Phin.

The Ernst and Young Best Accounting Graduate Awards for Year 1 was presented to Azie Azizah Bt Julaihi. Angela Lee Sik Fai and Pui Wee Nee took the Year 2 and Year 3 awards, respectively.

Among those present at the ceremony included Dato Sri (Dr) Haji Adenan Bin Haji Satem, Chairman of the Council of Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak Campus; Professor Ian Young, Vice-Chancellor and President of Swinburne University of Technology; Professor Helmut Lueckenhausen, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive of Swinburne’s Sarawak Campus; state dignitaries and distinguished guests.

Media Enquiries

David Teng
Assistant Manager, Industry and Alumni Engagement

Related news

Swinburne Sarawak Offering Full Scholarship for UEC Graduates

Read more

i-CATS University College, Swinburne Sarawak renew articulation agreement

Read more

IoT4Community workshop introduces secondary school students to Internet of Things

Read more