25 August 2008

450 Swinburne Sarawak students graduate

The fifth graduation and award presentation ceremony of Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak Campus saw 450 students receiving their scrolls at Dewan Santapan, Dewan Undangan Negeri in Petra Jaya, Kuching, on 25 August 2008.

The Chief Minister of Sarawak, Pehin Sri Haji Abdul Taib Mahmud who is also the Pro Chancellor of Swinburne Sarawak, presented the scrolls.

Also presented at the ceremony are the Ernst and Young Best Accounting Graduate Awards. Angela Lee Sik Fai took the award for Year 1 while Pui Wee Nee and Ang Zhi Feng took the award’s Year 2 and Year 3 categories respectively.

The CPA Australia Book Prize for First Year Financial Accounting went to Liu Tonin and Shirley Fong Ngiat Ling.

Ong Ai Ling was awarded the KPMG Tax Services Sdn Bhd Prize for Academic Excellence in Taxation 2008.

At the ceremony, the Chief Minister was conferred Doctor of the University (DUniv) honoris causa.

Among those present included Dato Sri Haji Adenan Bin Haji Satem, Chairman of the Council of Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak Campus; Tan Sri Datuk Amar Haji Abdul Aziz Bin Haji Husain, Chairman of Swinburne Sarawak Sdn Bhd and Group Managing Director of Sarawak Energy Bhd; Professor Ian Young, Vice-Chancellor and President of Swinburne University of Technology; Professor Dale Murphy, Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Swinburne University of Technology; Professor Helmut Lueckenhausen, Pro Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive of Swinburne’s Sarawak Campus; state dignitaries and distinguished guests.

Media Enquiries

David Teng
Assistant Manager, Industry and Alumni Engagement

Related news

Swinburne Sarawak Offering Full Scholarship for UEC Graduates

Read more

i-CATS University College, Swinburne Sarawak renew articulation agreement

Read more

IoT4Community workshop introduces secondary school students to Internet of Things

Read more