Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak Campus

Swinburne Sarawak, Texas A&M-Commerce ink MOA

June 18, 2014

Dr Jones (left) and Professor Cahalan at the signing of the agreement.

KUCHING – Apart from Australia, Swinburne University of Technology Sarawak Campus students may soon have the opportunity to do part of their studies in the US following the signing of a memorandum of agreement with an American university, recently.

The agreement with Texas A&M University-Commerce was sealed at the Sarawak campus to establish cooperation and friendship for promoting mutual understanding and academic, cultural, and personnel exchange.

The President of Texas A&M University-Commerce Dr Dan Jones, and Swinburne Sarawak Pro Vice-Chancellor and Chief Executive Professor Anthony Cahalan were the signatories to the agreement.

Under the MOA, the two institutions will explore student exchange/study abroad programs for students, the exchange of faculty for the purposes of teaching and research, and joint development of collaborative research programs in fields of mutual interest.

The participation of students and faculty in joint seminars, workshops, lectures, training and academic meetings, as well as research/consulting contracts will also be looked into.

The agreement with the US university gives students from Swinburne Sarawak another destination for exchange. Currently, undergraduate students from the Australian branch campus could complete up to two semesters at Swinburne’s campus in Melbourne. 

Texas A&M University–Commerce is a member of the Texas A&M University System, an agency of the State of Texas, located in the city of Commerce.

Present at the signing of the MOA were Aldo Benavides, Provost and Vice-President of Texas A & M University – Commerce, and Professor Sang C. Suh, Head of the Department of Computer Science and Information Systems of Texas A & M University – Commerce.

Representing Swinburne Sarawak were Academic Director Associate Professor Enn Ong, Dean for the Faculty of Engineering, Computing and Science Dr Dennis Wong, Associate Dean for Computing Dr Patrick Then, Dean for the Faculty of Business and Design Dr Lee Miin Huui, Dean for the Faculty of Language and Communication Dr Wang Su Chen, Research and Consultancy Director Dr Wallace Wong, Registrar and Director of Student Operations Hussain Taiban, and Business Development and Communications Director James Ho.



David Teng
Assistant Manager, Industry and Alumni Engagement